History of Lighthouse United Methodist Church

Lighthouse Church has been in it's current location, 4923 Alberta Creek Road, Kingston, OK, since the fall of 2001.   However, we have a long and interesting history, dating back to before Lake Texoma even existed!

The church was originally located north of the Red River in Woodville, Indian Territory, in the early 1900's.  The church began conducting services about 1905 in a two-story school house in "Old Woodville."  A church building was erected by the faithful little congregation in 1908.  The "Old Woodville" church and parsonage were moved, along with many other houses and/or businesses in 1942, when the Denison Dam was completed and Lake Texoma waters covered the community.  Fire destroyed the New Woodville church building in October 1968.  Two months later the 30-member congregation began rebuilding.  The new sanctuary was dedicated in November 1970 as Woodville United Methodist Church.  A Fellowship Hall was added in 1976 and the first choir in 1979.

As the church grew and membership doubled, larger facilities were needed.  Lacking sufficient space in the New Woodville location, twelve acres were purchased on the corner of Alberta Creek Road and Texoma Hills Road.  In September, 2001, construction began on the "Lighthouse" United Methodist Church.  The Lighthouse serves a cluster of communities (Woodville, McBride, Alberta Creek, Texoma Hills, Catfish Bay, Enos, etc.) north of the lake and south and east of Kingston.

Lighthouse UMC continues to grow by helping our community know and serve Jesus Christ.  "Our goal is to love everyone, provide a warm, caring, friendly place for all to worship, and experience the love God has for each of us, made known through our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  Our vision is to grow God's church and our faith beyond our own limits to the fulfillment of God's Word.  -- Pastor Toni Highnight


Contents © 2022 Lighthouse United Methodist Church , Kingston Ok • Church Website Builder by mychurchwebsite.netPrivacy Policy